Author Readalikes: Anne Tyler

If You Like Anne Tyler…

Here is some other fiction about families coping with the quirks of everyday life

  • Charles Baxter -- Saul and Patsy
  • Maile Meloy -- Liars and Saints
  • Sue Miller -- The Distinguished Guest
  • Elizabeth Berg -- Say When
  • Laurie Colwin -- Family Happiness
  • Judith Guest -- Ordinary People
  • Richard Russo -- The Risk Pool
  • J. Robert Lennon -- The Funnies
  • Joanna Trollope -- Other People’s Children
  • Alice McDermott -- Charming Billy
  • Jane Hamilton -- Disobedience
  • Anne Lamott --Blue Shoe
  • Kent Haruf -- Plainsong
  • Eliza Osborne -- The Distance Between
  • Alice Hoffman -- Seventh Heaven
  • Gail Godwin -- The Good Husband
  • Carol Shields -- Unless
  • Lorrie Moore -- Birds of America (stories)
  • Kate Atkinson -- Behind the Scenes at the Museum
  • Wally Lamb -- I Know This Much Is True

Compiled March 2004