Author Readalikes: J.R.R. Tolkien

If You Like J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings…

 Try these other epic fantasy series

  • Stephen R. Donaldson -- The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant series
  • David Eddings -- Belgariad series
  • Philip Pullman -- His Dark Materials trilogy
  • Terry Brooks -- Shannara series
  • Robert Jordan -- The Wheel of Time series
  • Tad Williams -- Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn series
  • Michael Moorcock -- Elric of Melniboné series
  • Terry Goodkind -- The Sword of Truth series
  • Guy Gavriel Kay -- Fionavar Tapestry series
  • George R. R. Martin --  Song of Ice and Fire series
  • David Farland -- Runelords series
  • Robin Hobb -- Farseer trilogy
  • Margaret Weis -- Death Gate cycle
  • Katherine Kerr -- Deverry saga
  • Lois McMaster Bujold -- Chalion series
  • Raymond E. Feist -- Riftwar series