Author Readalikes: Khaled Hosseini

If You Like Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner …

Try other fiction about modern life in other cultures

  • Yasmina Khadra -- The Swallows of Kabul
  • Ulfat Idlibi -- Grandfather’s Tale
  • Dai Sijie -- Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
  • Edwidge Danticat -- The Dew Breaker
  • C.J. Koch -- The Year of Living Dangerously
  • Terrence Cheng -- Sons of Heaven
  • V.S. Naipaul -- A Bend in the River
  • Arundhati Roy -- The God of Small Things
  • Julia Alvarez -- In the Time of the Butterflies
  • Ruya Hakkakiyan -- Journey from the Land of No
  • Jhumpa Lahiri -- The Namesake
  • Bhatul Khudayri -- A Sky So Close
  • Tamim Ansary -- West of Kabul, East of New York (nonfiction)
  • Monica Ali -- Brick Lane
  • Naguib Mahfouz -- Palace Walk
  • Kurban Said -- Ali and Nino
  • Naomi Shihab Nye -- Habibi (Young Adult)
  • David Davidar -- The House of Blue Mangoes
  • Masha Hamilton -- Staircase of a Thousand Steps
  • Laila Halaby -- West of the Jordan
  • Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni -- Sister of my Heart