Author Readalikes: Michael Shaara

If You Like Michael Shaara's The Killer Angels …

Try other fiction about the American Civil War

  • Donald McCaig -- Jacob’s Ladder
  • David Poyer -- Fire on the Waters (the Civil War at Sea series)
  •  William R. Trotter -- The Sands of Pride
  • Howard Bahr --The Year of Jubilo
  • Russell Banks -- Cloudsplitter
  • Alden R. Carter -- Bright Starry Banner
  • Bernard Cornwell -- Rebel (Nathaniel Starbuck series)
  • Harold Coyle -- Look Away
  • Richard Croker -- To Make Men Free
  • E.L. Doctorow -- The March
  • Shelby Foote -- Shiloh
  • John Jakes -- North and South
  • William Johnstone -- Talons of Eagles
  • Ted Jones -- Hard Road to Gettysburg
  • MacKinlay Kantor --Andersonville
  • Robert Mrazek -- Stonewall’s Gold
  • Owen Parry --Faded Coat of Blue (Abel Jones mystery series)
  • James Reasoner --Manassas (Civil War battle series)
  • Jeff Shaara -- Gods and Generals
  • Richard Slotkin --The Crater
  • Tom Wicker -- Unto this Hour