The Virginia Symphony Presents...The Winds of Time

Series: Dewey Decibel Concerts

This new series made possible by Friends of Williamsburg Regional Library features musicians of the Virginia Symphony in free performances. Musicians will explain and perform music by a specific composer or musical period and will answer questions from the audience.

This performance features a quintet consisting of Sherie Aguirre, oboe; Rachel Ordaz, flute; Nick Hecker, clarinet, Laura Leisring, bassoon and Wilford Holcombe, horn. Composers featured in the program range from Rameau to Farkas  from Brahms to Debussy.  It will take the audience on a woodwind ensemble musical "time machine." 

Admission is free and open to all.

Note: This program was originally scheduled for April 4

Works presented in the program included:

Pierre Passereau - Il est bel et bon - Rennaissance composition from the 15th century

Jean-Philippe Rameau (born 1683) - Gavotte with six Doubles

Franz Haydn (born 1732) - Divertimento

Johannes Brahms (born 1833) - Menuetto

Claude Debussy (Born 1862) - Reverie

Henry Cowell (1897-1965) - American - Ballad (1956)

Ferenc Farkas (1905-2000) - Hungarian - Antiche Danze Uncheresi dal 17th century (1959)

Denes Agay (1912-2007) - Five Easy Dances


Room: Theatre