Holland Wentz Etheridge and Jim Dees present Recent Works: Growth and Experimentation

Since our last show at the Stryker Center 2 years ago, Holly and I have continued teaching watercolor classes and getting together each week to paint. Our theme for this year’s show, Growth and Experimentation, refers in part to our penchant for painting green and growing things, such as my palm tree series and Holly’s beautifully rendered trees in Swiss Organic Farmers. But, it also alludes to growth in our approach to painting and our openness to experimentation. See Holly’s Williamsburg Winery in Autumn using Brusho and my Through That Narrow Gate, a watercolor with glass shards. Our hope is to always use new techniques and materials to better realize our artistic intent, not simply for novelty.

In 2017, Holly won an Award of Excellence for Light Lunch at the Virginia Watercolor Society show and in 2018, she got the 3rd place award for Helen Darion at 101. I was pleased to have my highly experimental watercolor collage, Fractured Fantasy, accepted in the same 2018 VWS show, making me a signature member. We both had paintings accepted in the Central Virginia Watercolor Guild show in Charlottesville this year—my November Dance and Holly’s At My Drawing Board, which won Best in Show!

We hope you will enjoy sharing our works and seeing where our new art ventures are taking us.

Jim

 

 

When

Monday, November 5, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, November 6, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, November 8, 2018 (All day)
Friday, November 9, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, November 10, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, November 11, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 12, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, November 15, 2018 (All day)
Friday, November 16, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, November 17, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, November 18, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 19, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, November 20, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, November 24, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, November 25, 2018 (All day)
Monday, November 26, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, November 27, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, November 29, 2018 (All day)
Friday, November 30, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, December 1, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, December 2, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 3, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, December 4, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, December 6, 2018 (All day)
Friday, December 7, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, December 8, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, December 9, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 10, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, December 13, 2018 (All day)
Friday, December 14, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, December 15, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, December 16, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 17, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, December 19, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, December 20, 2018 (All day)
Friday, December 21, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, December 22, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, December 26, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, December 27, 2018 (All day)
Friday, December 28, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, December 29, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, December 30, 2018 (All day)
Monday, December 31, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, January 3, 2019 (All day)
Friday, January 4, 2019 (All day)

Location

Williamsburg
Event Room: 
Gallery