Sankofa: Looking Back, Moving Forward

Sankofa is an Adinkra symbol from Ghana, which translates as, “to look into ones past in order to move forward”.  Sankofa: Looking Back, Moving Forward is comprised of drawings and prints by artist Steve Prince. His work offers a candid look into America’s past and challenges us to look deeper for meaning and understanding of how we have collectively arrived at this juncture in history. The art challenges us to not only be cognitive of the history and the scars we have sustained, it posits a message of hope for communal renewal if we dare work together to solve the deep-set communal issues.

Artist Steve Prince will be in residence: May 13-17

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and Tuesday/Thursday from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.

This exhibit is part of Muscarelle on the Move!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rosa Sparks, Linoleum Cut on Paper, 36" x 50", 2017

 

 

When

Wednesday, May 1, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, May 2, 2019 (All day)
Friday, May 3, 2019 (All day)
Monday, May 6, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, May 9, 2019 (All day)
Friday, May 10, 2019 (All day)
Monday, May 13, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, May 16, 2019 (All day)
Friday, May 17, 2019 (All day)
Monday, May 20, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, May 23, 2019 (All day)
Friday, May 24, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, May 28, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, May 30, 2019 (All day)
Friday, May 31, 2019 (All day)
Monday, June 3, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, June 6, 2019 (All day)
Friday, June 7, 2019 (All day)
Monday, June 10, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 (All day)

Location

Stryker Center