Strong Men & Women in Virginia History

People of African descent have been a part of Virginia’s — and America’s — story since European colonization of the North American continent began. Yet the contributions of African Americans often have been ignored, obscured, or underappreciated by those who recorded history. In observance of Black History Month, the Library of Virginia and Dominion Energy honor seven distinguished Virginians, past and present, as Strong Men & Women in Virginia History for their important contributions to the state, the nation, or their professions. 

These men and women offer powerful examples of individuals who refused to be defined by their circumstances. Their biographies are a testament to the determination and perseverance displayed by extraordinary people during challenging times. These individuals demonstrate how African Americans have actively campaigned through education and advocacy for better lives for themselves and all Americans. 

This program, which combined Dominion’s Strong Men & Women: Excellence in Leadership series and the Library of Virginia’s African American Trailblazers in Virginia History, operates in Virginia only, and was inaugurated in January 2013.

When

Monday, July 1, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 (All day)
Friday, July 5, 2019 (All day)
Monday, July 8, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, July 9, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, July 11, 2019 (All day)
Friday, July 12, 2019 (All day)
Monday, July 15, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, July 18, 2019 (All day)
Friday, July 19, 2019 (All day)
Monday, July 22, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, July 25, 2019 (All day)
Friday, July 26, 2019 (All day)
Monday, July 29, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, August 1, 2019 (All day)
Friday, August 2, 2019 (All day)
Monday, August 5, 2019 (All day)
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 (All day)
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 (All day)
Thursday, August 8, 2019 (All day)

Location

Stryker Center