Through the Eye of a Naturalist

Exhibit Reception: Sunday, August 19th from 2-4 p.m. Open to the Public

“There is nothing ugly; I never saw an ugly thing in my life: for let the form of an object be what it may, light, shade, and perspective will always make it beautiful.” (Memoirs of the Life of John Constable, 1843).

Master Naturalists have never seen an ugly thing in nature. These photographs offer proof. They grant the viewer a glimpse into a naturalist’s inquiring mind. Imagine fixing a gaze into the eyes of a frog or a dragonfly. See how natural colors and shapes form intriguing patterns that hold you. A playful juxtaposition of natural and artificial provokes thought.

Historic Rivers Chapter Virginia Master Naturalists take photographs while about their business as community natural resource volunteers. Their photos reflect their never-abating interest in the natural world that stops them while gardening or bird watching. People who are curious about nature want to capture and hold tight those brief moments when light, shade, and perspective enhance detail, color, and form. People who are curious about nature enjoy the outdoors and want to be a part of natural resource management and conservation in Virginia. They are perfect candidates to become trained and certified Virginia Master Naturalists.

The Historic Rivers Chapter based in Williamsburg, organized in 2007, is one of 30 chapters across Virginia and graduated its tenth cohort last March. The Chapter has over 100 active members who volunteer in the community as educators, citizen scientists, and stewards of natural resources. The statewide program is sponsored by Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation, Virginia Department of Forestry, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, and Virginia Museum of Natural History. For additional information or to inquire about the next training session, please contact Judy Jones, President jjones184@cox.net org, http://historicrivers.org.

When

Monday, July 16, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, July 17, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, July 19, 2018 (All day)
Friday, July 20, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, July 21, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, July 22, 2018 (All day)
Monday, July 23, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, July 26, 2018 (All day)
Friday, July 27, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, July 28, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, July 29, 2018 (All day)
Monday, July 30, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, August 2, 2018 (All day)
Friday, August 3, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, August 4, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, August 5, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 6, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, August 7, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, August 9, 2018 (All day)
Friday, August 10, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, August 11, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, August 12, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 13, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, August 14, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, August 16, 2018 (All day)
Friday, August 17, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, August 18, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, August 19, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 20, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, August 23, 2018 (All day)
Friday, August 24, 2018 (All day)
Saturday, August 25, 2018 (All day)
Sunday, August 26, 2018 (All day)
Monday, August 27, 2018 (All day)
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 (All day)
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 (All day)
Thursday, August 30, 2018 (All day)
Friday, August 31, 2018 (All day)

Location

Williamsburg
Event Room: 
Gallery